>

Phase II - Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II - English

Go to content

Phase II

Info
Permalink:


Star Trek New Voyages to Phase II
Star Trek New Voyages
Star Trek Phase II
Star Trek: New Voyages Becomes Star Trek: Phase II 
February 2008

On Saturday, February 16th, Executive Producer James Cawley announced to fans during an appearance at the 2008 Farpoint Science Fiction Media Convention in Baltimore, Maryland, that Star Trek: New Voyages would shed the “New Voyages” moniker and become Star Trek: Phase II. Cawley assured fans that the change would be more than just the name, promising that the production will have access to new people, new materials, and a new direction, but will remain focused on his original vision for the show. 

“Make no mistake about it, this is a new beginning for our production. This will be the next step in our effort to provide the quality show fans have come to expect, with commitment and dedication to keeping the original series look and feel that fans have come to enjoy,” said Cawley, “As before, we will strive to involve familiar faces from Star Trek’s 40-year legacy in our episodes, as well as actors from other classic SciFi shows when we can. You will see the changes taking place over the next few weeks, but you will really appreciate the changes when we release our future episodes.” 

This change naturally generates questions and we have chosen a few that immediately come to mind and tried to answer them for fans.

Q. Why are you changing the name of Star Trek New Voyages? 
A. New Voyages began as a fan film project, as a bunch of friends who love Star Trek working together to prove there was still plenty of creative life in Gene Roddenberry's original vision of Star Trek. With our recent Online Video Award from TV Guide for Best SciFi Webisodes, we think we've proven that. We're ready now to move to a higher level -- Phase II, Gene's proposed title for a second Trek series that would've aired in the 1970s. 

Q. Why make this name change now? 
A. The almost universally positive reviews of our latest episode, "World Enough and Time," combined with our next episode, David Gerrold's "Blood and Fire" convinced us that this was the time to re-brand ourselves, to demonstrate our commitment to keep raising the bar for our stories and our production values. What better way than to literally move to our next phase, and to continue to honor Gene Roddenberry's vision. 

Q. What about your original mission to continue the original voyages of the Enterprise, Captain Kirk's five-year mission? 
A. Our series will continue to tell the stories of the final two years of the Enterprise's five-year mission under Captain James T. Kirk. What we want to depict, though, is the transition between what we saw in the first three seasons of the original TV series and the look and feel that we saw in Star Trek: The Motion Picture. 

Q. What changes will we see? How will "Phase II" be different from "New Voyages"? 
A. Some changes will be immediate, like our new cast members. Our next episode, Part 1 of David Gerrold's "Blood and Fire" will introduce our new Mr. Spock (Ben Tolpin) and Lt. Uhura (Kim Stinger), and bring a new character to our regular cast, Ensign Peter Kirk (Bobby Rice), Captain Kirk’s nephew. Upcoming episodes will feature our new Sulu (J.T. Tepnapa) and Chekov (Jonathan Zungre). Other changes will be more subtle, as we introduce new technology and story elements. Phase II will also feature our first spin-off series, "Star Trek: First Voyages," whose pilot episode will be shot this summer and be released originally as an episode of Phase II.


Subspace Communication from Executive Producer James Cawley
 
November 2013 

Hello Everyone, First off I would like to say Thank You So Much to all of you who are our Friends, Fans and Supporters. I have been reading many of your posts today and wanted to take a moment to try and answer some of your questions regarding the series, New episodes, and my involvement. \n

Many of you know that I started this series more than 10 years ago so I could live out my childhood fantasy of getting to play Captain Kirk. I wanted to continue that 5 year mission and finish off those last two seasons we never got. Well, I enjoyed playing the part immensely. I got to live my dream to be Kirk. I got to appear on screen with my heroes George Takei, and Walter Koenig, and Barbra Luna! I will forever be Grateful to them. However, during the course of playing the part I was subjected to many, many cruel comments posted on several websites as to my acting abilities, or my looks and quite honestly it was becoming much to much handle. I was devastated by the venom. I could not fathom, how my fellow Trek fans could be so hurtful towards me for just playing a part! So I decided to step down as an actor, and take my show to a new level and find a new young actor to fill the role, not an amateur but a pro! I found that in Brian Gross. A Terrific and very talented guy with many guest appearances on many prime time TV series! He is still getting settled in, but I assure you it is a pleasure watching him settle into and find the swagger of the character, I feel over the next three episodes he will be completely in the groove and what I like is that he is making Kirk his own and NOT doing a Shatner impersonation! I am still here, guiding the series as Senior Executive Producer and I have more time to devote to the creative side of the series. We are Releasing the long delayed episode "Kitumba" on January 1, 2014, which will mark my finale as Kirk, and then on February 14, 2014 we release "The Holiest Thing" with Brian Gross taking over. \n

In post production we have "Bread and Savagery" which is next in line for release. "Mind-Sifter" will be shot and completed in late June of this year with Brian Gross. The episode "Origins" has been placed on hold, pending a complete re shoot due to complications with actor availability.\n Again, let me say Thank You to all of those who I have worked with over the last 10 years and to those of you who have enjoyed our work. 

I look forward to many more voyages together, Live Long and Prosper Friends! 

James Cawley
Return to the original "New Voyages" name on June 9, 2015

June 2015

As a bit of an homage to that old Star Trek: The New Voyages book, we decided to release “Mind-Sifter” under our "Star Trek: New Voyages" moniker, rather than our "Star Trek: Phase II" moniker. Further, for a variety of reasons, this episode plays better as an episode that takes place during the The Original Series (TOS) era–back during the first three years of Captain Kirk’s five-year mission, rather than during the two later years of his mission.  

On 9 June 2015, James Cawley announced on Trekbbs that "We are officially NEW VOYAGES and the Phase II moniker has been dropped." As many fans had commented that they actually preferred the name "New Voyages," we have reverted back to that name and all future apisodes will now be released under the "New Voyages" name.

Two new logos are now used to represent our series. The first one is used to just represent New Voyages on new episodes, etc. The second logo combines both the New Voyages and Phase II in order to represent that both names have been used by us.

New Star Trek New Voyages Logo
New Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II Logo

facebook
Back to content | Back to main menu

>

Phase II - Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II - Deutsch

Eine Star Trek Fan-Produktion
Direkt zum Seiteninhalt

Phase II

Info
Permalink:






Star Trek New Voyages to Phase II
Star Trek Phase II
Star Trek New Voyages
Star Trek: New Voyages wird Star Trek: Phase II 
February 2008

Am Samstag, den 16. Februar teilte Executive Producer James Cawley den Fans bei einem Auftritt auf der Farpoint Science Fiction Media Convention 2008 in Baltimore, Maryland mit, dass Star Trek New Voyages die Bezeichnung "New Voyages" ablegt und in Star Trek: Phase II umbenannt wird. Cawley versicherte den Fans, dass die Änderungen mehr als nur den Namen betreffen würden, versprach dass die Produktion zwar Zugang zu neuen Leuten, neuem Material und einer neuen Richtung haben würde, aber auch weiterhin das Hauptaugenmerk auf seine ursprüngliche Vision der Show richten würde.

"Ihr irrt euch nicht, das ist ein neuer Anfang für unsere Produktion. Dies wird der nächste Schritt in unserem Unterfangen sein, die Qualität zu gewährleisten, die die Fans von uns erwarten, mit der Verpflichtung und dem Wunsch den Look und das Feeling der Original Serie zu erhalten den die Fans so mögen" sagte Cawley, "Wie zuvor werden wir uns bemühen bekannte Gesichter aus dem 40-jährigen Star Trek-Vermächtnis in unsere Episoden zu integrieren, aber auch Schauspieler von anderen klassischen SciFi Shows wenn wir können. Ihr werdet die Änderungen die nächsten Wochen verfolgen können aber ihr werdet sie echt zu schätzen wissen wenn wir unsere zukünftigen Episoden veröffentlichen.

Diese Änderungen werfen natürlich Fragen auf und wir haben einige ausgewählt die spontan in den Sinn kamen und haben versucht diese für die Fans zu beantworten.


F. Warum ändert sich der Name von Star Trek New Voyages?
A. New Voyages begann als Fan Film Projekt. Als eine Gruppe Freunde die Star Trek liebt sich zusammentat, um zu beweisen, dass noch immer viel kreatives Leben in Gene Roddenberrys original Vision von Star Trek steckte. Mit unserem kürzlich erhaltenen Online Video Award von TV Guide als beste SciFi Webisode denken wir, haben wir das bewiesen. Jetzt sind wir bereit für ein höheres Niveau - Phase II, Genes vorgeschlagener Titel für eine zweite Star Trek Serie die in den 1970ern ausgestrahlt worden wäre. 

F. Warum ändert ihr den Namen gerade jetzt?
A. Die fast nur positiven Kritiken unserer letzten Episode "World Enough and Time", kombiniert mit unserer nächsten Episode, David Gerrolds "Blood and Fire" überzeugte uns, dass dies die Zeit war, um uns einen neuen Stemple aufzudrücken, unsere Verpflichtung zu demonstrieren, die Messlatte für unsere Geschichten und Prouktions-Niveau höher zu setzen. Was für einen besseren Weg gibt es, als wortwörtlich zur nächsten Phase überzugehen und Gene Roddenberrys Vision weiterhin zu ehren?


F. Was wird aus eurer ursprünglichen Mission, die original Abenteuer der Enterprise fortzusetzen, Captain Kirks Fünf-Jahres-Mission?
A. Unsere Serie wird damit weiter machen Geschichten der letzten zwei Jahre der Fünf-Jahres-Mission der Enterprise unter Captain James T. Kirk zu erzählen. Was wir verdeutlichen wollen, ist der Übergang zwischen dem was wir in den ersten drei Staffeln der original TV Serie gesehen haben und dem Look und dem Feeling das wir in Star Trek: Der Film sahen. 

F. Welche Änderungen werden wir sehen? Wie wird "Phase II" sich von "New Voyages" unterscheiden? 
A. Einige Änderungen werden sofort erfolgen wie unsere neuen Besetzungsmitglieder. Unsere nächste Folge, Teil 1 von David Gerrolds "Blood and Fire" wird unseren neuen Mr. Spock (Ben Tolpin) und Lt. Uhura (Kim Stinger) einführen und eine neue Figur zum regulären Besetzungsstab hinzufügen, Fähnrich Peter Kirk (Bobby Rice), Captain Kirks Neffe. Kommende Episoden werden unseren neuen Sulu (J.T. Tepnapa) beinhalten und Chekov (Jonathan Zungre). Andere Änderungen werden subtiler sein, wie neue Technologie und Story-Elemente. Phase II wird auch unsere erste Spin-Off Serie beinhalten, "Star Trek: First Voyages" dessen Pilotfilm wir diesen Sommer drehen werden und der original als eine Phase II Episode erscheinen wird.


Subraumkommunikation von Executive Producer James Cawley 
November 2013 

Hallo Ihr Lieben, zunächst einmal möchte ich mich bei allen bedanken, die unsere Freunde, Fans und Unterstützer sind. Ich habe viele Ihrer Beiträge heute gelesen und wollte mir einen Moment Zeit nehmen, um zu versuchen, einige Ihrer Fragen zu beantworten, die die Serie, neue Episoden und meine Beteiligung betreffen. 

Viele von euch wissen, dass ich diese Serie vor mehr als 10 Jahren begonnen habe, damit ich meine Kindheitsfantasie, Captain Kirk zu spielen, ausleben konnte. Ich wollte diese 5-Jahres-Mission fortsetzen und die letzten beiden Saisons beenden, die wir nie bekommen haben. Nun, ich habe die Rolle sehr genossen. Ich muss meinen Traum leben, Kirk zu sein. Ich durfte mit meinen Helden George Takei, Walter Koenig und Barbra Luna auf der Leinwand erscheinen! Ich werde ihnen für immer dankbar sein. Im Laufe des Spiels wurde ich jedoch vielen, vielen, vielen grausamen Kommentaren ausgesetzt, die auf verschiedenen Webseiten über meine schauspielerischen Fähigkeiten oder mein Aussehen gepostet wurden, und ganz ehrlich, es wurde viel zu viel zu viel behandelt. Das Gift hat mich am Boden zerstört. Ich konnte nicht ergründen, wie meine Trek-Fans mir gegenüber so verletzend sein konnten, nur weil sie eine Rolle spielten! Also entschied ich mich, als Schauspieler zurückzutreten und meine Show auf ein neues Level zu heben und einen neuen jungen Schauspieler zu finden, der die Rolle ausfüllt, nicht als Amateur, sondern als Profi! Das habe ich in Brian Gross gefunden. Ein toller und sehr talentierter Typ mit vielen Gastauftritten in vielen Prime Time TV Serien! Er wird immer noch eingelebt, aber ich versichere Ihnen, dass es ein Vergnügen ist, ihm zuzusehen, wie er sich in den nächsten drei Episoden niederlässt und die Schwärmerei des Charakters findet, ich fühle, dass er in den nächsten drei Episoden komplett im Groove sein wird, und was ich mag, ist, dass er Kirk zu seinem eigenen macht und NICHT eine Shatner-Imitation macht! Ich bin immer noch hier und leite die Serie als Senior Executive Producer und ich habe mehr Zeit, mich der kreativen Seite der Serie zu widmen. Wir veröffentlichen die lange verzögerte Episode "Kitumba" am 1. Januar 2014, die mein Finale als Kirk markieren wird, und dann am 14. Februar 2014 veröffentlichen wir "The Holiest Thing" mit Brian Gross als Nachfolger. 

In der Postproduktion haben wir "Bread and Savagery", welches als nächstes in der Produktionslinie steht. "Mind-Sifter" wird Ende Juni dieses Jahres mit Brian Gross gedreht und fertiggestellt. Die Episode "Origins" wurde auf Eis gelegt, bis zu einem kompletten Re-Shooting wegen Komplikationen mit der Verfügbarkeit von Schauspielern.
Nochmals vielen Dank an alle, mit denen ich in den letzten 10 Jahren zusammengearbeitet habe, und an alle, die unsere Arbeit genossen haben. 

Ich freue mich auf viele weitere gemeinsame Reisen, Live Long und Prosper Friends! 

James Cawley
Rückkehr zum ursprünglichen Namen "New Voyages" am 9. Juni 2015

Juni 2015
Als Hommage an das alte Star Trek: The New Voyages Buch haben wir uns entschlossen, "Mind-Sifter" unter dem Namen "Star Trek: New Voyages" und nicht unter dem Namen "Star Trek: Phase II" zu veröffentlichen. Außerdem spielt diese Episode aus verschiedenen Gründen besser als eine Episode, die während der Ära The Original Series (TOS) während der ersten drei Jahre der fünfjährigen Mission von Captain Kirk stattfindet, als während der zwei späteren Jahre seiner Mission.

Am 9. Juni 2015 verkündete James Cawley auf Trekbbs, dass "We are official NEW VOYAGES and the Phase II moniker has been dropped". Da viele Fans erklärt hatten, dass sie eigentlich den Namen "New Voyages" bevorzugen, sind wir auf diesen Namen zurückgekehrt und alle zukünftigen Episoden werden nun unter dem Namen "New Voyages" veröffentlicht.


Zwei neue Logos repräsentieren nun unsere Serie. Die erste wird benutzt, um New Voyages auf neuen Episoden, etc. darzustellen. Das zweite Logo kombiniert sowohl New Voyages als auch Phase II, um zu zeigen, dass beide Namen von uns verwendet wurden.

New Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II Logo
New Star Trek New Voyages Logo

facebook
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt